The George Soros Visiting Chair

CEU and SPP Founder George Soros

The George Soros Visiting Chair was established with generous contributions from the friends and family of George Soros, founder of Central European University and of the School of Public Policy, and Honorary Chairman of the CEU Board of Trustees.

The George Soros Visiting Chair or Practitioner Chair is awarded to scholars or practitioners who have demonstrated outstanding achievement or a distinguished record of participation in the academic, professional, journalistic, political, or civic world of public policy.

The Chairs= appointed for Academic Year 2022-2023 is Damian Tambini (spring term). For former George Soros Visiting Chairs please look here

Applications are open for Academic Year 2023-2024, the deadline is April 30. For details please find the call for applications below.

For more information on the George Soros Visiting Chair program, please email